Westminster Presbyterian Church
Photo of inside of church
Where loving God and neighbor is transforming lives.
About Us


Presbyterian churches are governed by a Session which is made up of the church’s clergy and active elders who are elected by the congregation.  (See Code of Regulations.)  Westminster has chosen to have a separate Board of Deacons to oversee the pastoral ministry of the church.  The work of the Session is divided into eight standing committees.  See below for Session, Board of Deacons, and Committee Mission Statements as well as participants for these groups.


2013-2014 Session

The mission of the Session is to provide the spiritual and governmental leadership of Westminster Presbyterian Church.  The Session will take responsibility for the church’s vision: deciding which good, for what people, at what cost.  It will be a sign for our believing community of the new reality that God has made available in Jesus Christ.

Class of 2014

Karen Clute
Stan Herr
Rebecca Szabo
Barbara Wilson

Class of 2015
Jane Collins
Pat Torvik
Leon Vandecreek
David Weaver

Class of 2016
David Boezi
John Jahoda
Larry Pugh
Georgie Woessner

The Reverend Tom York, Moderator
The Reverend John W. Neely
The Reverend Nancy S. Hodgkins
The Reverend Laurie B. Davis
Clerk of Session: John W. Ey
Assistant Clerk of Session: Stan Herr
President of the Trustees: Georgie Woessner
Treasurer: Pat Torvik

2013-2014 Board of Deacons

Our mission as Deacons at Westminster Presbyterian Church is to minister to those within our congregation who are in need; to care for one another as God cares for each of us.  In thankful response to the love and mercy shown to us in Jesus Christ, we respond to the needs God reveals to us as we open our hearts, minds, and wills to God’s call.  We strive to do all to the glory of God.

Class of 2014
Jennifer Grass
Kendall Lawson
David Wescott
Class of 2015
Pat Garland
Paul Holcomb
Robbie Nash
Mike Toerner
Class of 2016
Kathryn Lake
Jon Manuel
Vail McGuire
Scott Porter

John Shonle, Moderator


The Body of Christ at Work
Our 2013-2014 Eight Standing Committees

Building and Grounds Committee - David Boezi, Chair

The mission of the Building and Grounds Committee is to maintain and rehabilitate the real property of the church: the building, the grounds, and the parking lot.

Education and Practice Committee - Leon Vandecreek, Chair

The mission of the Education and Practice Committee is to encourage faith formation through education and spiritual practices for all ages.

Evangelism, Hospitality, and Membership Committee - Barbara Wilson, Chair

The mission of the committee is to provide opportunities for evangelism to be learned and practiced by the congregation, to lead the congregation’s ministry of hospitality to visitors, and to welcome new members into the church body.

Mission Committee - Karen Clute, Chair - Jane Collins

The mission of the committee is to demonstrate God’s love and compassion, to enrich the lives of people in need, and to encourage social justice and peacemaking through education.

Fellowship Committee - Rebecca Szabo, Chair

The mission of the Fellowship Committee is to offer opportunities for the members of Westminster to increase their congregational friendships in a variety of settings and in an environment of love and warmth.

Personnel Committee - David Weaver, Chair - John Jahoda

Working with Pastor/Head of Staff, the mission of the committee is to assure the adequacy of personnel and personnel administration for the church.

Stewardship and Finance Committee - Georgie Woessner, Chair

The mission of this committee is to educate the congregation about stewardship, encourage generous financial giving as a matter of spiritual practice, and monitor the Session's adopted budget.

Worship, Music and Fine Arts Committee - Stan Herr, Chair

The mission of this committee is to plan, evaluate and encourage Sunday worship, special worship, weddings and funerals. The committee also oversees the church’s music and fine arts.

Sunday - 10:00 AM
125 N. Wilkinson St,
Dayton, OH 45402

Get Directions
Handicapped Accessible

Ph: 937.223.7285
Fx: 937.223.9085
Click here to e-mail

Quick Links
Daily Devotional
125 N. Wilkinson Street, Dayton, OH 45402 | Ph: 937.223.7285 | Fx: 937.223.9085 | E:
spacer © Westminster Presbyterian Church spacer